Thread: Fed Rule 4.3.2
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 15, 2005, 03:58pm
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"Alternating-possession control is established and the initial direction of the possession arrow is set towards the opponent's basket when . . . the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower after a common foul when the bonus free throw is in effect."

Just checking . . . this is would be the case were an overtime to start and a foul be committed after the tap but before control was established . . . yes?

Any other circumstance(s) to which this applies?

TIA
Well, that's the case book play. I can't think of any other time there would be a common foul, the bonus is in effect, and the arrow hadn't been set other than an overtime period.

I suppose the same thing would happen if you had a pre-game dunk; you would set the arrow when the ball's at the disposal of the free throw shooter. But of course, that's not a common foul.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote