View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 14, 2005, 01:41am
TimTaylor TimTaylor is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally posted by MCBear
Felix, now I understand where you are coming from on this. We never got any such clarification here in CA. Matter of fact, there was a discussion about this very thing at the state rules meeting that I attended and it was pointed out that interpreting 9-5-4 in that manner is taking it out of context.

The context of the back-row player with hands below the height of the net is supposed to be if they contact a ball "that is completely above the height of the net, on the team's first or second contact, directing the flight of the ball toward a teammate and the opponent legally contacts the ball that breaks the vertical plane of the net. If the ball is hit into a back-row player whose hands are below the height of the net, it is ruled as the team's first hit/contact." The interpretation we received is that it does not apply except in that situation.

The way that your interpreter is presenting it makes sense, but we never got anything about it being interpreted that way from NFHS.
Hmmmm.......we were told the same thing Jan - that it applied only in that specific situation (BR player setting to teammate & ball is legally blocked back into them). I think perhaps I may toss this one at our rules interpreter & see what they say.........
Reply With Quote