View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2005, 05:30pm
MCBear MCBear is offline
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Felix, now I understand where you are coming from on this. We never got any such clarification here in CA. Matter of fact, there was a discussion about this very thing at the state rules meeting that I attended and it was pointed out that interpreting 9-5-4 in that manner is taking it out of context.

The context of the back-row player with hands below the height of the net is supposed to be if they contact a ball "that is completely above the height of the net, on the team's first or second contact, directing the flight of the ball toward a teammate and the opponent legally contacts the ball that breaks the vertical plane of the net. If the ball is hit into a back-row player whose hands are below the height of the net, it is ruled as the team's first hit/contact." The interpretation we received is that it does not apply except in that situation.

The way that your interpreter is presenting it makes sense, but we never got anything about it being interpreted that way from NFHS.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote