Jan,
In Illinois, the interpretation for block attempt is now hands above the net, in line with the new back row block rule. From the IHSA directly:
NFHS Major Rulebook Corrections to Rule 9-5 Player Actions
NFHS clarified the back row attack rule but neglected to amend the others affected by the clarification. So
get your rulebook out.
First, 9-5-4 is the new rule change for back row. It clarifies that if a ball is hit back into a back-row player who is on or in front of the 10' line and her/his hands are below the net, it is considered the first hit and not a block. Therefore, the block definition, 9-5-1c, has to be altered to reflect the new rule. The block definition should be corrected to read:
A play approximately arm's length from, at or near the net in which a player(s) whose hand(s) ARE PARTIALLY ABOVE THE HEIGHT OF THE NET, CONTACTS THE BALL, OR ATTEMPTS TO CONTACT THE BALL, in an action that would prevent the ball from crossing the net, or return the ball immediately or deflect the motion of the ball, is a block.
Next make the change to rule 9-5-5 to read:
A back-row player shall not: a. Participate in a block or an attempt to block with hands partially or completely above the net
.
As our person in charge of
VB is on the NFHS rules committee, I got the impression that this rules change was in effect nationwide now. That may not be the case...