Thread: Tough to find
View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 02, 2001, 02:06pm
rdodom rdodom is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 14
Angry

That's a tough one coach!

"BktBallRef" makes a good point! I can't think of a time when I've called "roughing the runner". I don't see that one, or "slamming" a runner in the rule book. I'm not saying what happened wasn't illegal! I didn't see it and I wasn't there! Like I said before, the ref saw something and it seems everyone there agrees that something was there. I think your "street clothes" ref should have stayed out of it!

Rule 9-4-2.g: No player shall make any contact with an opponent which is deemed unecessary and which incites roughness.

To me it's obvious that the original call by the ref was based on that rule! I've just never seen it called when making a tackle. I've always been told you can pretty much do whatever it takes to get the runner down except grab a facemask or helmet opening.

If it was based on that rule, then I agree with you that it's a live ball foul and the period should have been extended. In thinking about it, your guy was a "holder" and I guess I could see a 110 lb. runner being picked up by a 300 lbs. defensive lineman, taken ito the air and slammed to the ground. I might call that one, I guess! But we've got to be careful not to mix up football with WWF. I have seen a runner grabed by the collar from the rear and the tackler threw him down, no call! We've all seen the famous set up on a punt return where this poor guy is getting ready to set up and make a tackle on the guy about to catch the ball and getting blindsided by a blocker setting up a return! Great hits are built into football!

I can see it as a dead ball foul if the tackler puts on a textbook tackle, hands up under the legs. But instead of just putting the runner down on his back, he picks the runner up, carries him a couple of yards (or in your case, a couple of yards out of bounds) and then slaming him down after the officials have blown the whistle to help stop the play. There has to be a time period where it was obvious the whole play (or tackle) should have ended but the tackler just kept on going. In this case, it's definitely a dead ball and the qtr. ends!

Again though, I have to see it to call it either way, or not to call it!!
__________________
Dex
Reply With Quote