Thread: Warnings
View Single Post
Old Mon Sep 12, 2005, 07:30am
Official Forum Member

Coach, I heard You

I am a newbie to FB but have been doing BskBall for about 6-years. I agree with the warning/preventive officiating, if only some coaches would heed the "warnings". Sat AM, had a HS Frosh game, it was early and it was hot, but that should not be an excuse for the coaches.

Red Asst Coach is starting to harp about "everytime they run that sweep, they're holding our end", and his voice is one that is heard about two blocks away [in fact had another individual from the school talk to us at half time and tell us he heard the coach from inside the school which is about 150-yards from the coaches box].

I had the Red sideline, I told the Asst Coach I heard him and gave him the old stop sign. The next time White ran the sweep to the other side, he started chirping again. I told Asst Coach Okay, I heard him. [I didn't see any holding but the run was towards the LM side and I was drifting downfield and trying to clean up]. Between plays I am right next to Red HC, I told HC that he better take care of his sideline before I had to. HC turned right away and headed for the Asst Coach, don't know if or what he said to him, if anything.

The next chance the crew [4-man] had to huddle, I passed on the coaches concerns to everyone so we could be watching for holding. The next series Red has ball, and what do they do, 1st down RT pulls down the DE. U gets the hold. Back up 10 and do it again. On 3rd down, Red runs sweep to LM side, U gets pulling LG with a nice tackle on DT. Backup 10 more and do it again. Red is able to recover from both penalties and sustains a fairly nice drive. It's about 2nd and 4 from White 35-Yd line and RG gets a hold on DE on pass play. Red finally stalls on the drive and punts.

So now we start hearing that "everyone on our line got called for holding on that series. Why don't you guys call it both ways.