Quote:
Originally posted by IAUMP
This question came up during a discussion of a game from last Friday (high school using NF rules). My crew did not do the game, but came across the information second hand.
K1 punts to R1, who is standing on his five yard line. R1 muffs the catch and the ball goes into the endzone. We understand that if the ball is grounded in the endzone it is a touchback. No question from us.
Since the crew doing the game awarded K a touchdown, and we are not sure how the ball was recovered, our question is as follows. If the muff by R1 goes into the air, and K2 was standing just across the goal line, to prevent the ball from entering the endzone (remember all that matters is where the ball is not the player). K2 recovers the airborn muff in the endzone. Would this be a touchdown for K?
Thanks for any thoughts on this matter.
|
The kick does not have to be grounded in the EZ to have a TB, if it crosses the plane you have a TB. In college it must be grounded, but not NF.
You tell me one HS player that is going to know that after a muff the ball will still become dead when it crosses the EZ, so he stands in the EZ, but reaches out to catch the ball out of the EZ and then brings it into the EZ. That is a person that does not exist. Anyway, the ball would become dead at the spot the ball is when K gains possession, so 1-goal inside the 1 yard line.