
Thu Sep 08, 2005, 09:25am
|
In Memoriam
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by lukealex
If a player has stopped dribbling and is standing there doing nothing, has no dribble, goes to pass, steps forward but decides not to pass, doesn't lift the pivot foot (would it matter?), then touches the ball to the floor while holding it with two hands. Would this be a violation?
|
It's not a dribble to touch the ball to the floor while holding it. There's a specific sentence to that effect right in one of the rules -- someone with a rules book will be along shortly to post it, I'm sure. 
|
NFHS rule 4-15-4NOTE3- "It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and touches it to the floor once or more than once".
Does this mean that I'm Bob's caddy?
|