View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 28, 2001, 02:09pm
Dennis Flannery Dennis Flannery is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 122
Talking

No that is wrong ... even though there can still be a charge in this case, there is still no team control.

NCAA rule book Team control continues until the ball is in flight during a try for a goal, or an opponent secures control or the ball becomes dead.

So even though you may have a charge, there is no team control, it is just player control. This is why you would go to the arrow.

This is why they always say at the next level you need to learn how to hold you whistle just a tad bit longer. If the ref would have just waited on the "T" for a second or 2 longer, then you wouldn't have all of this confussion. If the basket goes, maybe let the slap go, but tell the player next time you got them. If the ball doesn't go, then come out with the "T".
Reply With Quote