View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 01, 2005, 11:49am
kentref kentref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 260

Question unrelated to my question to Bob.

Would we also flag the signaller if he blocked before the kick ended if he gave a signal while he was in or behind the neutral zone?

4th and 10 at the K-20. K1 punts the ball high but the kick never passes the neutral zone. While the ball is in the air, R1 signals for a fair catch at the K-19. The ball strikes the ground at the K-19 and bounces backwards to the K-15. Seeing that R2 is about to secure the ball, R1 blocks k3 to keep him from getting to the kick. How would we rule on this?

Great question. My initial reaction is to throw the flag for the illegal block. 6-5-1 states that "any" receiver who has given a valid or invalid fair-catch signal is prohibited from blocking until the kick has ended. It says nothing about the signaller's position on the field.










[/B][/QUOTE]
__________________
kentref
Reply With Quote