View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 28, 2001, 09:14am
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Dennis Flannery
NCAA men: player control if the player has the ball (doesn't
include airborne shooter). So, if the foul is before the
ball is released then it's a PC & the shot does not count.
If the ball is released before the airborne player commits
a foul it's a common foul, as Chuck points out. Score the
basket. Also, since it's a common foul you go down the
other end & shoot if the team fouled is in the bonus. I've
never seen this happen.
Your right this is a common foul (a push) in NCAA rules. In this play I would count the basket, (which I have had to do in a game) shoot the "T", then go and shoot the 1 and 1 if in the bonus, or go to the arrow for poss. after the "T".

[/B][/QUOTE]

Very nice, you've tied together the entire thread to create
an interesting play. So we got: After A1 releases for a
shot and still airborne he fouls B1. While the shot is in
the air B2 intentionally slaps the backboard. The ball
goes in. B is in the bonus. WTF happens now?

Answer: NCAA men: as you described but why are we going to
the arrow after the T?

NFHS & NCAA women: PC on A1, wave off the basket, A shoots 2 for the T, no bonus shots for B. B gets the ball at the
endline spot for NCAA (point of interuption), A gets the
ball at midcourt for NFHS.

What do you think? Do we all agree?
Reply With Quote