Quote:
Originally posted by don't move
If A1 controls the ball in his endzone and he is running toward the goal line, and he lands on the 2 yd line, it is spotted at the 2. If he leaps straight up and is contacted by B who forces him into the field it is a touchdown. Why is this different?
|
The scenarios you write seem to indicate A is about to score a touchdown in B's endzone. I am assuming you mean that A1 is airborne when he possesses the ball and you also meant the opponents end zone (not his) the answers are.
1. Apply the catch definition (2-4-1). The catch is not complete until the player touches the ground inbounds. the ball is spotted at the 2 assuming the player fell or was tackled there causing the ball to become dead.
If you really meant his end zone (ie) A's ball. 1st and 10 from their own 1 yard line. QB in the endzone in shot gun formation take snap and retreats near endline where he throws a high pass to A1. A1 leaps and controls pass while still over endzone and lands and falls on 2 yard line completing the pass. You would still apply (2-4-1) CATCH.
2. In this scenario you need to apply both the catch (2-4-1)and the forward progress rule (2-15-2) to get the proper spot. A1 given credit for the catch by possessing the ball and touching the ground inbounds. The furthest point of advancement (forward progress 2-15-2) was into the opponents endzone when A1 was contacted by B and driven backward. Possession of a live ball in the opponent's end zone is ALWAYS a touchdown.(8-2-1)