View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 25, 2005, 09:31pm
BigUmp56 BigUmp56 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Re: Re: Hmmmmmmmmm........

Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by BigUmp56


This is not that complex of a question IMO. The rule Brian cited is specific to this scenario.

I don't understand why Carl felt the need to cloud the issue with two answers. This is a BOO appeal, not a missed base appeal.

The B/R is called out for the 3rd out on a proper appeal, as he had completed his at bat and is now a runner.

It wouldn't matter if the bases were loaded and the runners were forced to advance. The appeal would still nullify the advance of all runners. Why the need to mention R3 advanced on his own?

Tim.
Well, gosh, Tim, I mentioned it only because that's what happened.

BTW: Learning by contrast has been a valid method for hundreds of years.
Carl,

In your first answer you imply that the run should be scored, as R3 advanced on his own.

My point is, it is irrelevant as to whether or not he advanced on his own, or was forced. No matter how you slice it the illegal action of the improper batter nullifies the run.

While I agree that learning by contrast is a long standing tradition, I just don't see much of a comparative analysis between the two situations you have layed out.


Tim.

Reply With Quote