Thread: 2-16-2g-5
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 25, 2005, 10:23am
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Good grief. Don't know why, but I had it in my mind that once the ball crosses the neutral zone that the ball belonged to R. K could advance it but they had to make the line to gain otherwise R was given possession of the ball. Boy, was I WRONG!

I think some people are confused with the wording about K not being in possession at the end of the donw and thinking that "downing" a punt is possession of the ball.

I think the Fed did a good thing by clarifying the rule the way the did. I am just thinking of ways to make it simpler.


How about this.....

Add a definition to Rule 2 (like the college rule).

Belongs to: Specifies which team would next put the ball into play. (e.g. The ball belongs to R).

Change 2-16-2g-5 to say, "And the ball beongs to R as a result of action during the down".










__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote