Quote:
Originally posted by BillyMac
Jurassic Referee has convinced me by his rule citations to change #10 on my "Most Misunderstood Rules" handout:
10) (Change) Palming or carrying is when a player gains an advantage when the ball rests in the hand. (Rule 4-15-4a,b). (Thanks to Jurassic Referee).
|
You probably were a little premature in thanking me.

I'm anal as hell some times when it comes to the rules.
Advantage/disadvantage was never meant to apply to violations-- it usually only applies to incidental physical contact occuring somewhere on the court. Iow, it either IS or ISN'T a violation. If you leave any doubt in there, it's pretty much guaranteed that your coaches/parents are gonna be doubting you every time that you do call it. And one official's concept of advantage/disadvantage is not necessarily the same as another official's idea of advantage/disadvantage- even on the same play or within the same crew. You're also asking a helluva lot of your newer officials too, if you want them to start calling violations by advantage/disadvantage. They just don't have the experience to do something like that consistently, and they sureasheck ain't gonna be calling it uniformly.
Btw, you can take the paragraph above and apply it to the "three seconds" call also that's on your list-imo. Good luck on getting uniformity on this call from all of your officials at both ends of the court. And if you don't get uniformity after laying out to your coaches/parents how it's GONNA be called, well...again, good luck to you.
And.....the violation above ISN'T for the ball coming to rest in the hand either. That's perfectly legal. You're creating more doubt for the people that this list is intended for if you write it up that way.The dribble simply ENDS if the ball comes to rest in the hand. Rule 4-15-4a&b. When that happens, the dribbler can subsequently commit one of two violations. He can travel while the ball is at rest, as per R4-43-2. He can also dribble again, which would be an illegal second dribble under R9-5. Your choice. You also have your choice of which of 2 signals to use also--i.e. #s 19 or 20.Jmo, but I think #20 is more descriptive and appropriate when letting others know why you made the call.
Again, Billy, jmo fwiw.