Thread: Rules Myths
View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 18, 2005, 06:34pm
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee


(2) Say what? Where may I find that in the NFHS rule book or case book? I thought it was only legal if the fouled player did so to avoid injury-PERIOD. Just being fouled doesn't give any player license to hang on the rim, does it?
This might not apply to the NF, but NCAA Men's does not want a T called on a player that was fouled in the act of shooting while trying to dunk. This was on the NCAA Men's tape last year. I think that philosophy could be appropriately applied when working NF games without a specific interpretation.

Peace
I don't recall anyone saying *not* to call a T on a fouled dunker on that tape. In fact I can't remember a single play where a dunker was fouled and you know who saying "no need to T here, he was fouled".

I do recall seeing lots of dunks, each followed by instructions to T him up.
Reply With Quote