View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 18, 2005, 03:26pm
Snake~eyes Snake~eyes is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by waltjp
Quote:
Originally posted by kdf5
Quote:
Originally posted by waltjp
This is covered in the latest issue of Referee.
Can you give us some highlights from the article (other than it's legal) such as rule numbers or part of their theory why it's legal? Also, 9-9-1 says no player...shall hinder play by an unfair act which has no specific rule coverage. If you believe this shouldn't be allowed then this might be your catch all.

[Edited by kdf5 on Aug 18th, 2005 at 03:23 PM]
Wasn't much of an article, as I remember - more of a sidebar. I do remember reading that it was legal in HS. I'd have to check to see what references it cited.
I just looked at it and you are correct, it is a sidebar. It does not state much other than in NFHS the noseguard may touch the ball once the ball moves. In NCAA it is a dead ball offsides. In NCAA B cannot touch the ball until it leaves the snappers hands.
Reply With Quote