View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 17, 2005, 01:00am
assignmentmaker assignmentmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Dual airborne shooters. It could be.

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref

2 fouls??

I don't think so.

You can send A1 to the line, A2 to the line, or no one to the line.

But no way send both.
Would I send both? No in 99.9999995% of cases.

Could I send both? Absolutely.



A1 shoots - try has started, ball is live.

B1 fouls A1 before A1 comes down to the ground - ball is still live (foul on defense during a shot - 6-7 Exception), the try has not ended (4-40-4).

A2 taps the ball - considered the same as a try, this does not end A1's try, unless the first shot was determined to be "certain(ly) unsuccessful."

B2 fouls A2 - ball is still live, try has not ended.


Two fouls on two shooters equals two shots for each.
A1 became an airborne shooter when s/he shot the ball (under 4.1). Being an airborne shooter doesn't end for A1 till s/he returns to the ground. If there's another shot (a tap is a try), or a technical for A5 screaming 'Duck!', while the airborne shooter is . . . airborne . . . I don't think the rules or the casebook indicates that that status ends any other way than by returning to the ground.

Whether by one foot or two - I am interested in that. A player 'with the ball' gets nothing - if you catch a pass and there's only room/time to get one foot down, that's what you get. You need more, foul on you.

But for an airborne shooter, who by definition aquired the status by getting rid of the ball as a shot, is time and distance relevant, say in the way it is in screening? I don't think so. If the defender has position, and the airborne shooter has a vector forward - well, perhaps that was his/her distance in which to stop. If airborne shooter A1 gets one foot down, then crashes into defender B1 . . . foul on the ground on A1 after the shot (ignoring the dicey issue of whether or not the ball has gone through the basket)? Surely the airborne shooter doesn't have the right to land one-on-to-two . . .
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote