View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2001, 11:11pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by WVREF
Sorry about adding a reply this late but I had missed this thread earlier. I agree this is an illegal act as described. The problem I've always had is in the enforcement of the UC in this play and the "where's the tee?" play. Do we blow it dead and penalize before the snap? If so what do we do if the player really is looking for the tee? If we allow the play to go then the enforcement is from the succeeding spot, not acceptable. Should we just kill the play as soon as it is snapped? Any opinions? I know our state has said kill it prior to the snap.
We discussed this play last year on the McGriff board. The only way to handle it is to kill the play. Even though the ball is snapped, the foul occurred before the snap, even if it's not evident until after the snap.

Compare it to a coach who yells that you're a sorry SOB just before the ball is snapped. The USC occurs before the snap, even though the ball may be snapped before you can blow the whistle. DBF before the snap.

If you look at 9.5.1d, you'll see this under the ruling.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote