Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by gsf23
Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB
What makes you think the BU didn't see R1 retouch first legally?
|
In JM's situation from page one he states the base umpire first denied the appeal. JM came out to question and was stopped. The PU then called over the base umpire, they taked and the BU reversed the call. So the BU obviously didn't see something or he would have had no reason to reverse the call.
|
He was going to protest as soon as the BU denied the appeal. He assumed that a rule was misapplied, but it very well could not have.
|
All right, but how is a coach supposed to know if the rule was misapplied unless he goes out to ask the umpire what happend? If the umpire says no coach, I saw him retouch first before the ball went dead, then fine protest over, rule wasn't misapplied. If umpire says no coach he can go back to retouch during the dead ball, now we might have something, but how is the coach to know which it is unless he asks?
In this situation, we will never know why the appeal was denied because the BU never gave coach a chance to ask.
[Edited by gsf23 on Jul 27th, 2005 at 03:41 PM]