Quote:
Originally posted by gsf23
Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB
What makes you think the BU didn't see R1 retouch first legally?
|
In JM's situation from page one he states the base umpire first denied the appeal. JM came out to question and was stopped. The PU then called over the base umpire, they taked and the BU reversed the call. So the BU obviously didn't see something or he would have had no reason to reverse the call.
|
He was going to protest as soon as the BU denied the appeal. He assumed that a rule was misapplied, but it very well could not have.
Obviously the PU told the BU something which made him change the call. On a fly ball to F8 with R1 and R3, who is watching R1 tag up? The BU probally didn't see anything, and therfore called him safe. The PU saw that R1 never got close to first.
So R1 and R3. Fly ball to F9 in foul ground. PU does not get a good angle to see the catch and R3 retouch. R3 leaves early and scores. Defense appeals and PU denies it.
JM then comes out of the dugout and yells "I protest." What is there to protest?