View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 27, 2005, 12:12pm
Dave Hensley Dave Hensley is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Childress
The actual ruling in the OBR says that it doesn't matter when the runner advances:
I disagree. The OBR Approved Ruling, together with example Play 1 makes it clear that the runner cannot advance to a succeeding base after the ball goes dead.



7.10(b) With the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, he fails to touch each base in order before he, or a missed base, is tagged.
APPROVED RULING: (2) When the ball is dead, no runner may return to touch a missed base or one he has left after he has advanced to and touched a base beyond the missed base. PLAY. (a) Batter hits ball out of
park or ground rule double and misses first base (ball is dead)_he may return to first base to correct his mistake before he touches second but if he touches second he may not return to first and if defensive team appeals he is declared out at first.


Reply With Quote