LDUB wrote: "So you admit that you had nothing to protest."
JM did no such thing. The apparent failure of the umpire to see the play does NOT mean there is nothing to protest here.
He did NOT want to protest a failure to actually retouch.
He DID want to protest that the retouch was NOT LEGAL per 7.10(b) Approved ruling (2) "When the ball is dead, no runner may return to touch a missed base or one he has left after he has advanced to and touched a base beyond the missed base."
HE wanted to do this because the runner went and touched 2B AFTER the ball went dead and BEFORE he returned to touch 1B.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
|