View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 26, 2005, 01:28pm
PeteBooth PeteBooth is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
To those who would suggest that obstruction is always a "judgement call" and, therefore, cannot be properly appealed, I say

Now you are speaking as a COACH.

Let me give you an EXTREME case to proove a point.

Lete's assume r2 and 2 outs.

Ground ball to F6. As F6 is about to field the ball R2 clobbers him and NOTHING is called. Guess what, you can plead to your hearts content but if blue didn't call interference there is no interference.

The CALLING of OBS/INTERFERENCE is a JUDGEMENT call. The ENFORCEMENT is governed by rule. It's only in the second part that a coach can appeal.

Example; assuming FED rules. R2 is obstructed a few steps off of second base. After playing action ends, blue says I am keeping R2 at second. In FED this is a misapplication of the rule and the coach can request an appeal or Protest.


The FIRST PHASE of OBS/INTERFERENCE is to CALL IT which is judgement.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote