View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 10, 2001, 09:01pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by camaulds
In a freshman FB game I had the following play.

Team A in punt formation...Team B has two receivers back, one forward (R1) and one deep (R2)...A punts and the airborne punt is coming down between the 2 receivers...They are converging toward each other as the punt comes down...R2, intent on catching the ball over his shoulder, signals for a fair catch...After that R1 makes the catch and advances upfield...I immediately blew the play dead and flagged the spot...Our Referee said there should be a penalty for delay of game at the spot of the foul.

Our varsity crew in discussing the play decided that blowing the play dead right away was correct but there should not have been any flag...The delay call was an old rule that was in place back in the day the clock started immediately after a change of possesion and not at the subsequent snap as it is today.
Sounds like your JV crew is smarter than your varsity crew. The rule has not changed.

NF 6-5-5
No receiver may advance the ball after a valid or invalid fair-catch signal has been given by any member of the receiving team.
PENALTY: delay of game (Art. 5) – (S21)
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote