View Single Post
  #73 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2005, 01:15pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
I think -- Reaching through the boundary line and contacting the inbounder.
Is there a reference for this other than 4.19.6? It doesn't say "contact" there; it says "fouls" the inbounder.

Should we try to split that hair?
I don't have my books with me, so I wasn't sure the exact wording of the rule.

That said, since "touching the ball" (not "preventing a throw-in" or "dislodging the ball") is a T, wouldn't the correlary be that "touching a player" would be an IP?

I've never seen the latter, and in the few times that I've seen the former the contact was sufficent that had it been on the player instead of the ball I'd likely have had a "foul".
Reply With Quote