After reading this thread I thought I would pull out my old casebooks and see if a play was directly on point. The play that I am about to list was in the casebook from 1987 to 1994. This remained the casebook play until 1995 when they changed to the play that they are currently using. The rule has not changed in that time and I am not aware of any new interpretations, that being said this illistrates team A has the right to free kick if they choose to.
6.5.3B Play: Team A is behind 7-6 with 20 seconds remaining in the 4th period. Team A has made a fair catch on the 50, and chooses to snap. A1 runs to the 20 where B1 tackles him, but grabs A1's face mask. If the penalty is accepted may Team A now request to free kick? Ruling: The request would be granted since the penalty was accepted for a foul which occured during the down following a fair catch or awarded fair catch.
This play is exactly like the play that was described except the yard lines have been changed. I hope this helps.
|