
Mon Jul 18, 2005, 05:54pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by devdog69
Quote:
Originally posted by MJT
Quote:
Originally posted by devdog69
It is all beginning to hinge on whether this down is considered being replayed. I've read 6-5-4 and the case play 4.3.7, neither really help with that aspect, i.e., whether a tack-on penalty gives the offense a replay or just 15 more yards. 5-2-2 says 'the number of the next down is the same as that of the down during which the foul occurred unless penalty acceptance includes a first down or loss of down, or the enforcement or the advance results in a first down.'
Furthermore, 5-2-5 says 'Following a foul, a series of downs ends when: b. Acceptance or declination of any penalty leaves A in possession beyond the line to gain.
That is where I am basing my feeling that the series has ended and a new one has begun after enforcement of the long run and penalty.
|
I do not see what you are saying "that the series has ended after enforcement of the long run and penalty???
How is the original plays penalty enforcement different from 4-3-7 which again says "With the score tied near the end of the 4th qtr, R1 signals for a FC and catches the kick at K's 40. After a TO, the captain of R advises the R that he wishes to put the ball in play by snap. A1 throws a pass intended for A2. B1 interferes with A2 and the pass is incomplete. Following administration of the penalty, the captain of R decides to put the ball in play by free kick from K's 25 as a field-goal attempt. RULING - This is permissible.
I do not see the difference, other than we have a DPI instead of a FM at the end of a running play.
|
I do not see what you are saying "that the series has ended after enforcement of the long run and penalty???
Yes, that's exactly what I'm saying. Because, that's what the rule below says.
5-2-5 says 'Following a foul, a series of downs ends when: b. Acceptance or declination of any penalty leaves A in possession beyond the line to gain.
According to 5-2-5, this series of downs has ended. Thus, we are NOT replaying anything and thus, no option to free kick.
Basically, I believe there are conflicts between 4.3.7 and 5-2-5, how can you take one over the other is my problem.
[Edited by devdog69 on Jul 18th, 2005 at 06:35 PM]
|
5-2-5-a says "following a foul, a series of down ends when the acceptance of the penalty includes the award of a 1st down." This is the case in the DPI of 4-3-7, so the right to still free kick is allowed after a series of downs is ended.
5-2-5-a is what 4-3-7 is referring to, and 5-2-5-b is what you are using as your argument and they are in the same article, so they are one and the same regarding the right to rekick.
|