Thread: NF play.
View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2005, 05:05pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by devdog69
Quote:
Originally posted by Opie
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
REPLY: devdog...the key to understanding this is in NF 6-5-4:

"ART. 4… The captain may choose to free kick or snap anywhere between the inbounds lines on the yard line through the spot of the catch when a fair catch is made or through the spot of interference, when a fair catch is awarded. These choices remain if a dead ball foul occurs prior to the down, or a foul or an inadvertent whistle occurs during the down and the down is replayed.

Even though the down number may not be the same (because B's penalty took A past the line the gain), the down is still considered "replayed."
Bob has it correct. The down following the fair catch is being replayed due to a foul, therefore, team A still has the option to free kick or snap. It's in the rules.
Sorry, that's not good enough. I've been in the rulebook and have quoted the rule as to why I think the series ended. Tell me where it is 'in the rules', and I will look it up immediately.
As I stated on page #1, 4-3-7 says "With the score tied near the end of the 4th qtr, R1 signals for a FC and catches the kick at K's 40. After a TO, the captain of R advises the R that he wishes to put the ball in play by snap. A1 throws a pass intended for A2. B1 interferes with A2 and the pass is incomplete. Following administration of the penalty, the captain of R decides to put the ball in play by free kick from K's 25 as a field-goal attempt. RULING - This is permissible and the clock will not start until the kick is touched, other than 1st touching by K. R is also priviledged to disignate the point on K's 25, anywhere between the IB's lines he wishes the ball to be placed.
Reply With Quote