Thread: NF play.
View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2005, 04:23pm
Opie Opie is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
REPLY: devdog...the key to understanding this is in NF 6-5-4:

"ART. 4… The captain may choose to free kick or snap anywhere between the inbounds lines on the yard line through the spot of the catch when a fair catch is made or through the spot of interference, when a fair catch is awarded. These choices remain if a dead ball foul occurs prior to the down, or a foul or an inadvertent whistle occurs during the down and the down is replayed.

Even though the down number may not be the same (because B's penalty took A past the line the gain), the down is still considered "replayed."
Bob has it correct. The down following the fair catch is being replayed due to a foul, therefore, team A still has the option to free kick or snap. It's in the rules.
Reply With Quote