REPLY: I took a look at the video clips you pointed us to. Neither the first or the second give anyone enough information to make a call. One of the first principles of officiating is SEE THE WHOLE PLAY. Not just the end of it, but the WHOLE PLAY. Viewing these clips require you to look at a just a small part of the plays out of context.
In the first (less than 1 second long!!), it begins with the runner wrapped up by the defender near the sideline. It appears (just appears) that the initial contact with the runner is made just around the sideline--maybe inbounds, maybe out of bounds, but it certainly isn't clear in the video. All you see is a runner wrapped up and dragged (not thrown) to the turf in the two yard belt. Anyone calling that a foul based upon what the clip shows wouldn't last in HS ball more than a few seconds, let alone the NFL.
In the second (2 seconds in length), again it starts with a receiver just hitting the ground. SInce I have no real evidence as to what occurred before it, all I can do is surmise. It appears (again appears) that he made a laid out catch coming across the middle. As he hits the ground, a DB coming downfeld dives into him. Since the receiver just hit the ground, there's absolutely nothing to indicate that he was giving himself up. Since the NFL is a 'down-by-contact' league, he could have gotten to his feet and continued. The hit was legal. The rule you cited is there to protect the runner who gives himself up--the one who just lies there in a fetal position making it clear he has no intention of advancing. That's that play where you just see the defender come up and tap the runner to end the play. That's the player who needs to be protected.
In the third, there is helmet to helmet contact, but the runner is being tackled so that his head is dropping to the ground. It appears to be merely a coincidence that the defender's head hits him where it did--about two feet off the turf. I frankly don't know how the NFL wants that one called. Maybe others could offer their thoughts.
The fourth play is probably the only one where there is any possibility of a call for the Rams. From the movement of Warner's head, it does appear that there was intentional h-to-h contact. But...are you sure there was no flag?
__________________
Bob M.
|