View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 10, 2005, 02:04am
cowbyfan1 cowbyfan1 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
I would say it is not IG as the outside receiver was in the area at the time of the throw and if he had turned he possibly could have caught the pass. That is where the basis of "running the wrong route" comes into play. Yes Brady was still in the pocket and yes he had to throw it or he would have been sacked but still no IG.

Keep in mind ramtime, it is a pretty vague rule that is wide open for interpetation as to whether or not a receiver is in the area. It really has to be as you cannot say he has to be x- number of yards close to the ball as that becomes subjective too.

When I saw the play live I thought IG but then I saw replay and felt it was a good no call. On a play like that fans are the only ones that have that replay option. As an R I probably would throw the flag and then discuss it with my wingmen on that side.
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote