View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 09, 2005, 11:13am
RamTime RamTime is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 40
Quote:
Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion
Receiver in the area does not apply according to the rule above. There was:
1) Immanent amount of pressure from the defense.
2) The receiver had no realistic chance at catching the ball.
3) The pocket includes the TE if he drops off the line to pass protect thus the pocket extended outside the hash marks.

I didn't realize that officials asked the QB and/or receiver if they ran the wrong pattern and if so then no harm no foul regardless of the other evidence that points directly to IG. I guess it's kind of like the no fumble no sack rule that was instated two weeks before that game.

Quote:
You Rams fans just can't get over that game can you?!?!?!?! It is JUST a game and it is long over. Move on!
The idea was to understand the ruling and if it was grounding under NFL Rules. Heck even NE fans admit it was grounding. The ruling you give fly's in the face of what is shown in the video. If you don't want to stand up and answer the question with integrity then just say so. I made it clear that if it ruffled anyones feathers I would understand. Furthermore since your answer obviously makes no sense according to the rule posted you must feel like your protecting someone. Well your not because as you stated the game is over. My question was valid and I even offered video to look at. had you simply stated that he was out of the pocket then I would not have replied in this manner. Since this obviously hit a nerve with you, then there must be something underlying such as it was indeed intentional grounding that did not get called.

Anyway Thank you.
Reply With Quote