Thread: Play question?
View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 08, 2005, 09:26pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
Quote:
Originally posted by golfnref
Under NFL rules this would be an incomplete illegal forward pass. A forward pass is defined as one which initially moves forward after leaving the passer's
hands or one which is handed to a player who is in
advance of the teammate from whose hands he takes or receives it. Loss of 5 from spot of such illegal pass.
REPLY: But if I'm not mistaken, that's only true for forward handoffs that occur beyond the line of scrimmage. Isn't that correct MJT??
golfnref is correct cuz there is not a LOS cuz of the COP. He is correct on the defn of a forward pass, and it DOES matter if it is behind, or beyond the LOS. NFL rule 8-1-7 supplemental note #1 states "A ball handed forward (no daylight) to an ELIGIBLE receiver behind the line is treated as a fumble if he muffs it. A ball handed forward to an INELIGIBLE receiver behind the line is treated as a forward pass and remains in play when caught (unless intercepted by B in which case the play continues)." If there is no LOS, which is the case here, we would have an IFP, as stated by golfnref.

Golfnref, thanks for the NFL info you emailed me. I printed it off, and will be looking at it on Sunday. It is good to have some NFL talk. Take care!
Reply With Quote