You know, I felt this was a set-up, but responded anyway
NO, IT IS NOT! Why do you have to be such a jerk, Mike? Mine was an honest request seeking a logical and clear answer to what appears to be another case of the book being poorly written.
The book clearly states that No runner is to be removed from the bases except when the batter runner is required to bat.
Conversely, it is clearly logical and rational that the B-R should be removed from the base even if she is not going to bat again - and that is what I did in the game. Then I spent time researching the rule book and case book seeking a definitive answer to support my action. In my mind it is not there, so I came to this board. If there is a clear answer, state it. Otherwise let's agree that this is another area of poor text and we will live with it and make the correct call in spite of the text.
After all, nobody enforces 8.1.B.2 - we do allow a batter to run on an uncaught third strike even if 1B is unoccupied.
WMB
|