View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 30, 2005, 12:07pm
UmpJM UmpJM is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM

Rich I.,

Best I can find is the following from JEA:


Historical Notes: Umpires in the 1940's were authorized by Rule 31, Section 2 to call a balk anytime the pitcher
(1) failed to step directly before throwing to an occupied base or (2) feinted or actually threw to an unoccupied
base. The 1950 rule allowed a pitcher to throw to an unoccupied base if he were doing so for the purpose of making
a play (Same interpretation that is used today.) A casebook note was added in 1976. It clarified the issue of a pitcher
making a complete turn (without hesitating toward first base) and throwing to second when the umpire believed the
runner was attempting to advance...see 8.05 End Notes (b).

Customs and Usage: If the umpire is convinced that a runner is making a bona fide effort to advance to an
unoccupied base, then the pitcher is not guilty of throwing to an unoccupied base. See 8.05 End Notes Approved
Ruling (b).
Reply With Quote