View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 30, 2005, 11:25am
Macaroo Macaroo is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 67
Dave: Your detailed description is certainly more clear and better worded. However, since throwing to an unoccupied base in it's own right is a balk, then it has to be applied at all times. Anyone who has umpired for more than a day should KNOW that R2 must be stealing for F1 to legally throw to 2B (in attempting a play). Umpires must understand the WHOLE rule and study it in its entirety. Picking out one sentence to base a ruling on is inappropriate since it does not take into consideration all the parts of the rule. That's why we umpire; we have studied the rules and understand them completely (or should strive to).

Reply With Quote