View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 27, 2005, 12:05pm
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
which brings me to another aspect of it... In a game I did the other day, a player pulled her jersey up over her face for a moment, but she had a t-shirt underneath which did not get pulled up, and she attracted no attention to herself at all. It was just a private moment of frustration with herself. Is that within the rule to call, or not?
The way I've had the rule explained to me - yes, it is a T. Are you sure it was frustration with only herself, or could she have been "yelling" at you or your partners under cover of her jersey? I do that - I'll go home and yell into my pillow instead of yelling back at the coach. (My wife already thinks I'm nuts because I walk around the house on my heels, but that's another story...) Now, on a practical note, if I know for certain it was only for herself, and not done out in the middle of the floor for all to see, then I probably didn't see it happen; similar to how I would handle profanity. But it will be interesting to see how this is handled on a local association level, as well as the state level. I know we have been told in IL removing the jersey on the bench, to change it due to blood, is a T. I've already been told by several officials they will never "see" it, and therefore not call it.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote