Thread: Elbows Rules
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 27, 2005, 12:47am
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
So in thinking about the various possibilities, here's another way to re-word my question. Is it possible for the person holding the ball to cause contact between her elbow and a defender and have it be incidental? If A1 is "chinning" the ball, with elbows extended, is there any legal contact between elbow and defender? How close to the body do the elbows have to be for contact to be incidental? Any other criteria that apply to this situation?

Nevada, would it matter to you if the defender who took the elbow was in front of the ball-holder? The fellow holding the ball could clearly see the defender who was very close, and although I don't think the ball-holder aimed, nor that he "threw" the elbow deliberately, he certainly didn't restrain himself in any way. It was a hard enough hit that the defender fell backward and sideways, and there was a red mark on his face afterward.


Also, any rule references that would be helpful?

[Edited by rainmaker on Jun 27th, 2005 at 01:52 AM]
Reply With Quote