Quote:
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by Mista Bone  
This has come up several times and I can't find reference in the books: 
 
Strike three swung on a pitch in the dirt.  Catcher catches it "clean" on a hop.  I've always interpreted this to be a catch and not a dropped third strike, under the simple premise that the catcher did not drop the ball but caught it on the original delivery. 
 
Thoughts....? 
			
		 | 
	
	
 This is not a catch. How can it be a "clean" catch on a hop? Please check rule book definition of "catch".