Quote:
Originally posted by DaveASA/FED
Would you rule this illegal or not? Pitcher standing on pitching plate right foot on plate, left foot with toe 1-3" behind plate. As she is getting ready to pitch she brings the toe into contact with the plate and IMO is totally legal from there. The timing of this is very close to when she is bringing her hands together to start the pitch. She is not pushing off from behind the plate, or stepping back, she even stops as she gets the foot to the plate. Would you call this illegal??
|
This is illegal in ASA. She must have both feet in contact with the plate with the hands separated. While in this position, she must take, or simulate taking, the signals from the catcher. Both feet must remain in contact with the pitching plate at all times prior to the forward step. ASA 6-1-C-1, 6-1-D, 6-1-E-2.