View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 16, 2005, 08:27am
Dave Hensley Dave Hensley is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Even if played under OBR, the umpire did NOT get the penalty correct. If a fielder is playing with one foot in foul territory, professional instruction is that the infraction be ignored unless and until the opposing team complains, and then the rule should be enforced strictly for both teams.

Enforced means the ball shall not be put in play until the fielder has both feet in fair territory. There is no balk penalty. Those who believe the penalty is a balk are misreading or mis-parsing the paragraph breaks in Rule 4.03.
Reply With Quote