View Single Post
Old Sat Aug 18, 2001, 02:00pm
Administrator

Membership in IAABO.

I know that this posting is somewhat late but I would like to add my two cents to this discussion.

The question is: “Why should a basketball official belong to IAABO?” And my answer is: “Why not?”

I will answer the question using my profession (which is engineering) as analogy. But first I should admit that I am a member of IAABO and a member of three of its national committees.

I have a bachelor’s degree in engineering with a double major in civil engineering (specializing in structural engineering) and mechanical engineering (specializing in engineering mechanics). I am and engineer first, a civil engineer second, and a structural engineer third because this is the area in which I practice my profession. In the engineering profession there are two types of organizations to which an engineer can belong: “professional” and “technical.” I belong to both types of engineering organizations. I belong to the National Association of Professional Engineers, this a professional association that addresses matters that affect all engineers regardless of their discipline. I also belong to the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the Structural Engineers Association of Southern California. These are technical associations that address matters that affect engineers that practice in civil, mechanical, and structural engineering respectively. Within these three associations are smaller associations for engineers that practice in specialized areas of the discipline. Chemical, electrical, and industrial engineers also have their own technical organizations.