View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 09, 2005, 09:18pm
UmpJM UmpJM is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Mick,

Here's what the rule says:

Quote:
6.02
(a) The batter shall take his position in the batter's box promptly when it is his time at bat. (b) The batter shall not leave his position in the batter's box after the pitcher comes to Set Position, or starts his windup. PENALTY: If the pitcher pitches, the umpire shall call "Ball" or "Strike," as the case may be. The batter leaves the batter's box at the risk of having a strike delivered and called, unless he requests the umpire to call "Time." The batter is not at liberty to step in and out of the batter's box at will. Once a batter has taken his position in the batter's box, he shall not be permitted to step out of the batter's box in order to use the resin or the pine tar rag, unless there is a delay in the game action or, in the judgment of the umpires, weather conditions warrant an exception. Umpires will not call "Time" at the request of the batter or any member of his team once the pitcher has started his windup or has come to a set position even though the batter claims "dust in his eyes," "steamed glasses," "didn't get the sign" or for any other cause. Umpires may grant a hitter's request for "Time" once he is in the batter's box, but the umpire should eliminate hitters walking out of the batter's box without reason. If umpires are not lenient, batters will understand that they are in the batter's box and they must remain there until the ball is pitched. If pitcher delays once the batter is in his box and the umpire feels that the delay is not justified he may allow the batter to step out of the box momentarily. If after the pitcher starts his windup or comes to a "set position" with a runner on, he does not go through with his pitch because the batter has stepped out of the box, it shall not be called a balk. Both the pitcher and batter have violated a rule and the umpire shall call time and both the batter and pitcher start over from "scratch."
This would suggest that once the pitcher has come legally set (i.e. "hands together"), the batter's request for "time" should not be granted.

However, the following from JEA suggests that even if the pitcher has come set, it is a matter of umpire discretion as to whether or not to grant a batter's request for "time". Sounds like you did fine in your sitch.

Quote:
Customs and Usage: If a pitcher pauses unnecessarily in his set position or he starts his wind-up before the batter
is reasonably set, the umpire shall call Time and play shall start over from "scratch".

If the umpire considers the batter's request for time legitimate and in the interest of safety, time generally should be granted. This is strictly umpire's judgment and no policy should be followed that would allow an advantage to either pitcher or hitter.
JM
Reply With Quote