View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 08, 2005, 02:03pm
PeteBooth PeteBooth is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Originally posted by Illini_Ref

Pete, why would an out not be called in LL? I am not questioning you, just wondering the rule citation.

Here is the rule:

7.08(a) - Any runner is out when -

(3) the runner does not slide or attempt to get around a fielder who has the ball and is waiting to make the tag;

I guess we saw the play differently. Remember we had the privelage of watching the play over and over again in slo mo.

IMO, it was a bang bang play meaning that as soon as F2 had possession of the ball the runner collided with him.

IMO, the aforementioned does not meet the second part of the rule (Fielder Waiting to make a tag)

The ball F2 and runner arrived at approx same time.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote