View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 07, 2005, 04:44pm
The Roamin' Umpire The Roamin' Umpire is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Also going from memory here...

I'm going to disagree with LJ845 - I believe that NF rules say nothing about the direction of motion of the receiver. The only deciding factor is whether or not the official judges that the push causes the receiver to land OOB.

This is not to say that an official couldn't have the rule of thumb: same direction = would have been out anyway. But I'm pretty sure the rules do not force this interpretation.

That said, if the phrase "so that" means that the push directly caused the receiver to land where he did, then I've got completions in all cases.

1a) I'm not sure there's good rules coverage for this situation. I'm going to spot the ball where it crosses the sideline.

2b & 2d) I've got a TD.

2c) I'm always going to spot this at the B2. If he gets his feet back, then forward progress is generally not awarded - this is no exception.

The rest I agree with LJ845.
Reply With Quote