View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 15, 2001, 11:20am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Stripes130
Play: Jump ball called, look at arrow, blue ball. Blue takes five seconds, I give the ball to white. white inbounds and two players tie it up again. My partner calls jump. He looks at the arrow and gives it to.......blue. My mistake a few seconds earlier was in not making sure the possesion arrow was switched IMMEDIATLEY AFTER blue was called for the five seconds. try explaining that to a coach who, even if they did read that rule book we mentioned in the other thread, they probably would not have found it. (Case Book Rule 6.3.5A)
It's still not too late to correct the error. If you know that white should now have the arrow, then calmly explain it to the blue coach, pun intended , and give the ball to white.

"Coach, when your team committed the 5 second violation, they lost the arrow. The table failed to make the change and I didn't have an opportunity to correct it. So, it's going to be white's ball."

Is that what you did?

__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote