Debeau,
SRW cites the rule to use and the language is quite clear on how to rule on the play described.
We have an umpire who is unintentionly hit by a thrown ball so no out.
And as the rule is written a close reading reveals the following: first it says intentionally interferes with a batted or thrown ball (not our case) and second OR interferes with a play on another runner. In our case there is no OTHER RUNNER. Third, SRW underlines the part of being unintentionly hit is not interference.
The rule covers this play beautifully. What don't you get about it? Fuzzy logic?
|