View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 02, 2005, 09:49pm
TravelinMan TravelinMan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally posted by canuckrefguy
TM,

I disagree on both points.

First, when the horn went off by mistake, a couple players - on both teams - froze and/or threw up their hands wondering what was going on. Same thing that happens when you have a shot clock that isn't reset, and it goes off in the middle of one team's possession.

Second, the rule interpretation doesn't say anything about correcting the mistake ONLY if the whistle goes off at a certain point (in this case, before the ball goes OOB). The only thing that matters here is that the officials recognize the error, and that there is definite knowledge of the time remaining.
Likewise.

My main point was that in your sitch the play was ruled DEAD when you blew your whistle so the OOB violation (after whsitle) was moot. If you hadn't blown your whistle until after ball had gone OOB, then the play was still LIVE and B violated by letting the ball go OOB. (Violation on B, throw-in for A).

The rule you cite mentions nothing about any violation so this is NOT the same situation as yours.
Reply With Quote