Thread: Wipe the basket
View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 25, 2005, 06:35am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
1) If the player merely grasps the ring, but doesn't pull it down, or if the ring is the old-fashioned type which is not breakaway, I don't think that BI can rightly be called.

2) RULE 4 - SECTION 6 BASKET INTERFERENCE
Basket interference occurs when a player:
ART. 1 . . . Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.

I'm not sure of the point you're trying to make here, but you're contradicting yourself anyway. If a player grasps the ring while the ball is on or in the basket, then BI sureashell can rightly be called under R4-6-1. The ring is part of the basket. You knew that.
Reply With Quote